Picture

Hi, My Name is LeeAnn and I'm a Peace Corps Volunteer.

This past Friday I was sworn in as a Peace Corps Volunteer in Mali.  All 40 of us went to the ambassador's house and heard speeches from the Peace Corps Director of Mali, the Malian Minister of Foreign Affairs and the Madame Ambassador herself.  We stood, raised our right hands, and repeated an oath that had more do to with defending our country and upholding the constitution than helping the needy, but to hell with it, I am a volunteer!

There were some thoughts I'd like to share.  Not really anything of interest to any of my readers, but this is a post for me.  Because you see, when you have all this time to think, thoughts go in and out of your frazzled tired brain so quickly if you don't write them down, they are gone forever.  For that reason, I'm feeling especially thoughtful right now and am trying to document as quickly as possible.

So the following are some things I told myself today, a day that I felt a little lonely for my loved ones, to help lift my spirits:

Remember that feeling you had when you took that oath at swear-in.  Don't ever forget that feeling of success, of standing there among new found best friends in a foreign country that has already tested you to limits you didn't know you had and simply thinking, "I can do this."  Because you can; you can do this. And yes, you will be tested everyday, but know that everyday is a day that is building who you are and who you will become.  And while you may feel weak now, you will come away from this stronger than you ever were before.

Understand the seriousness of your mission while in Mali, but also know to laugh when the going gets tough.

Don't diminish the importance of integrating into the local culture, but never forget who you are and your own values.

And most importantly, know that while I may not see immediate results or any for that matter while I am here, what I am doing matters.

Okay, that's my pep talk to myself.  I'm off to bake some brownies my family sent me in a clay oven.  Wish me luck!

1/14/2012 02:38:45 am

You are amazing! Women of the Midwest have courage!!

Reply
Katie
3/11/2012 03:16:44 pm

Way to celebrate the small victories and to get through one of the dips on the cultural curve (sorry could't resist :)

Reply



Leave a Reply.