Picture
The maternal health mural we painted at the hospital during the coup
As most of you know, there is a Coup d'etat happening in Mali.  I won't spend time explaining what is going on, a Google search of Mali will inform you of all the details to catch you up.  I've written quite a bit since being tucked away safely in a house with 10 other volunteers the past week.  I've typed with such rage I may have caused serious damaged to my dusty laptop, I've tried to take a step back and see both sides of the story, and I've taken the time to enjoy the quality time with other PCVs.

But there is still that looming question as we go into Day 6 of the coup of the what ifs.  With each day, we have new hope or new despair.  Every hour of reading articles online, hearing from the Embassy and the Peace Corps staff, we've gone from having packed bags and goodbye letters written to chatting about our plans once we are allowed to go back to site next week.  It's emotionally draining to the point that there is barely conversation about the coup anymore.  We're over it.  

With the possibility of being evacuated, I have this little carrot being dangled in front of me.  My family, my friends, a good chipotle burrito are all in sight, beckoning me home.  But then I realize, I have accomplished nothing here so far.  I'm not ready to go yet.  Unfortunately, the choice isn't up to me.  So until the major decision is made (which probably won't be for days) I have to sit tight, buckle up and ride this rollercoaster of an experience.

They wouldn't call it a journey if it was predictable...  

Becky
3/30/2012 11:40:34 am

Don't sell yourself short my friend. When you view your time in Mali as a personal journey, you have moved mountains- not to mention I am certain you have already touched many Malian lives for the better with only your presence and smile. You are accomplishing more than you are aware of. Keep your chin up.

Reply
evan
3/31/2012 04:23:18 am

I agree with this "Becky" person. To say you haven't accomplished anything is nuts. don't worry about the things you can't control!

Reply



Leave a Reply.