I returned to the United States last month.  The following is an e-mail I sent to my close friends and family explaining (sort of) my decision.

I plan to write a longer entry in the next couple days.

Hello all,

For some of you, this e-mail might be redundant, and for others, sorry
I am dropping such a bomb.  I've decided to return back to the US and
terminate my service as a Peace Corps Volunteer.  I'll be returning
back to Michigan at the end of this week, in which I'll quickly skip
over to Chicago to celebrate the first marriage of my generation in my
family (!!!!).

I wish I could put it simply on why I am leaving Vanuatu.  It'd not
only be easier for you to hear it, but also really soothing for me to
put into words why I am just..well, unhappy.  But unfortunately,
things just aren't always so clear and you sometimes just need to
listen to yourself and go with it.  If you really want the list of
reasons, you can pay for a cup of a coffee for me and I'll tell you
the story.  But to be honest, I'm not sure that coming home is the
answer to my problem.  But I know that a change needed to be made and
I confidently feel that this change will be good for me.

I come away with this experience with this: Africa is awesome.  And
not awesome in the way a surfer dude says the waves were awesome, or
that shirt is awesome, but awesome in the way the word was meant to be
used.  The places I have been in Africa actually inspire me with
awe--a feeling of inspiration, fear and reverence.  And I think when
it comes down to it, while Vanuatu is a tropical paradise island, I'm
left with little emotional connection.  The people were great, the
scenery is breathtaking, but the work I was looking at doing was
simply not my cup of tea.

So what is next?  Well after an upcoming weekend of celebration, hugs
and happiness with my family in Chicago, I'll be taking a small road
trip with my brother and mom to New Jersey and New York to visit my
grandmother and a couple friends (for those of you who live in NY,
SURPRISE!!!) After, I'll sign up for a years worth of science classes
to acquire all the necessary pre-reqs to apply to go to school to be a
Physician's Assistant.  I've realized from my time abroad that I
indeed do want to do work in the medical field (cue Dad's
exclamation).

I thank you all for your support while I was abroad.  I've saved all
letters, e-mails and love that was sent from afar and I can't even
begin to express how much it all meant to me.  I can't wait to start
this next chapter and see all of you a bit more regularly.

Peace, Love and Life Changing Decisions,
Lee



Leave a Reply.